top of page

False vs true: translation stereotypes

Dear colleagues, during the last months I have been reading (and laughing at) a lot of posts and articles that depict translators as strange creatures or even as zombies. So I decided to collect 4 stereotypes that seem to be the most widespread, and write an article about them to tell you if they are a reality for me or just stereotypes. Here they are:


Translators work from the couch or the bed

This was true for me. I say “was” because it is not true anymore. Why? Because over time writing from the couch can cause really bad wrist pain, neck pain and back pain, and I discovered it at my expenses after working for more than six month from the couch. I don’t even comment about working from bed because this is just impossible, you are going to be excruciated by terrible back and bottom pains. In reality, translators normally have an office at home with a comfortable chair and a nice desk, perfect light and all the comforts needed. Or can also work from bars and places where they can sit comfortably if they are travelling.


Translators work through the night

This was true for me when I was a beginner and I couldn’t manage my time, I hadn’t enough experience and I accepted jobs well above my potential. Things changed years ago. I don’t like to work after 6PM. I am not concentrated, I just don’t want to work after that hour. So I get up every morning (except for weekends) at 7 o’clock and I start working at 8, more or less (it depends on bathroom time, dog’s needs, partner’s needs, etc.). Then I stop at noon for lunch, go back to work at 2PM and try to stop at 5 or 6PM. However, I am not the only translator in the world and I heard of many translators that work through the night and enjoy doing so.


Translators have an awful appearance

There are tons of posts that depict translators as zombies, untidy people, even dirty people with uncombed hair, pale skin and huge dark circles under their eyes, wearing a pyjama or a tracksuit, never moving their eyes from the screen and never seeing the sun in years. This is absolutely false for me. As I said in stereotype 2, I spend at least half-hour in the bathroom every morning to comb my hair, put make up on, dress and do all the things that other people do. Also because I could have a Skype call or meet a client or just a friend. As for never leaving my seat, I get up every half-hour and every two hours I go out for 15 minutes for a little walk with my dog.


Translator work every day even at Christmas

As I said, I work from Monday to Friday, never at Christmas or other holydays. However I am the one who gives full availability during summer months. Why? I cannot stay away from my job for more than a week. And as I know that work usually dicreases in August and I don’t receive a lot of tasks, I always say that I am there to work for them when they are on the beach (and me too!) ;)


I find these stereotypes funny and I like to laugh at them, but these stereotypes are spread by translators and I also think that we shouldn’t do it so much because some of them are not only funny, but also make translators seem unprofessional people and strange to the eyes of thoses who do not know them and need their services.


These are my experiences, did you have a different one? Feel free to share it in the comment section.

Post in evidenza
Post recenti
Archivio
Cerca per tag
Non ci sono ancora tag.
Seguici
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page